top of page

Sugar Meet Daddy - Pilot

INT. HONOKA’S APARTMENT, BEDROOM - DAY

HONOKA (Japanese American in her mid twenties) wakes before her alarm from the sirens blaring in Las Vegas. She wipes her eyes and in her worn out pajamas, that could’ve survived two zombie apocalypses, folds up her futon. After stepping over various self-made robotic projects, she readjusts her engineering degree that hangs on the wall.


INT. HONOKA’S APARTMENT - DAY

Honoka collides face first into the door when her roommate’s boyfriend, DEREK, comes out of the bathroom with a towel around his waist. Honoka gets blinded by the steam.

DEREK

(unfazed) Oh, morning. Uh Alyssa said I could use the shower.


When she doesn’t move, he picks her up by the shoulders.

DEREK (CONT'D)

Here. And plants her to the side so he can get past.


DEREK (CONT'D)

There you go.

Disoriented she bumps against the wall.

DEREK (CONT'D)

Great shampoo by the way.

She waves him off.

HONOKA

(tired)

Whatever.

INT. BATHROOM - DAY

She turns music on before getting in the shower and reaches for the shampoo. It’s empty.


HONOKA

Damn it.


The music stops abruptly. She slinks a towel around and rushes to the sink to put some water in the empty shampoo container, so she can get every last bit of shampoo clinging to the sides. It works.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

Thank god.

INT. HONOKA’S APARTMENT, KITCHEN - DAY

Honoka checks through the cabinets for food. A buzz shocks her, it’s HONOKA’S DAD, calling. His cheery face appears on the screen.

HONOKA

(still half asleep) Dad?


HONOKA’S DAD

Hah, yes! She grabs a cereal box to see nothing is left.


HONOKA’S DAD (CONT'D)

I caught you! It’s been awhile Honoka!


Startled she puts both hands up, like she’s been caught digging into a cookie jar. The cereal box crashes to the floor.


HONOKA

(sleepily) You got me.

Her dad laughs before-

HONOKA’S DAD

(serious) I needed to talk to you before work.


Honoka jolt’s up to look him in the face. Tossing the cereal box in the recycling.


HONOKA

Is everything okay?


HONOKA’S DAD

(quickly) Oh yeah, yeah...


HONOKA’S DAD (CONT'D)

Except Grandpa really needs to know

if you’re coming to the beach this year so he can make reservations for his birthday breakfast.


After opening the fridge she stares at the lonely yogurt container, then checking the expired date with the date on her phone.

HONOKA

B-but, his birthday is eight months away.

(then) I didn’t miss it, did I!?


She hears her roommate, ALYSSA, from down the hall.

ALYSSA (O.S.)

Hey, shut up! Nobody cares about

your grandpa!


HONOKA’S DAD

(to Alyssa) Morning Alyssa!

(back to Honoka) No no. It’s eight months away. (deadpan) He’s insane.


HONOKA

Probably not this year.


HONOKA’S DAD

Is it because of money?


HONOKA

(quickly) No.


HONOKA’S DAD

Cause your Mom and I have no problem-


HONOKA

(interrupts) It’s okay! Really, you’ve both helped me enough.


HONOKA’S DAD

At least think about it, okay? If we have to add one more person to the table it won’t be a big deal.


He catches a brief glance inside her fridge.


HONOKA’S DAD (CONT'D)

(laughs) Are you eating enough sweetie?


HONOKA

(brushes it off) Haven’t had time to go grocery shopping.


HONOKA’S DAD

The roommate’s still not pitching in, huh?


HONOKA

Don’t be ridiculous.

They both chuckle.

ALYSSA (O.S.)

I can still hear you!


HONOKA’S DAD

Sheesh okay. I’ll talk to you later


HONOKA

Yep.

Honoka barely hears her Mom’s voice in the background.


HONOKA’S DAD

Your Mom says to be careful.


HONOKA

I will.

She ends the call and takes one more look inside her pathetically empty fridge before closing the door.


CUT TO:


INT. RAINBOW WOOD, EMPLOYEE REC AREA - DAY

Honoka opens the employee fridge door to show she’s at work with her badge on, she works at Rainbow Wood (a smaller version of Disneyland), as a mechanical engineer. She’s hoarding snacks and drinks when her friend

AUGUST (in his mid- twenties, pyrotechnic engineer, and rule follower) greets her.


AUGUST

Ohayo!


HONOKA

Ohayo!

(aware of how close he is) Looks like someone forgot about my personal bubble.


August smiles and points a finger to pop the imaginary bubble. Honoka is not amused but a smile creeps on her face.

AUGUST (CONT'D)

(awkwardly clears throat) Here, let me help you.


August takes some of her items to carry as they walk to their lockers.


HONOKA

(smiles warmly) Thanks.


AUGUST

So, you’re not going to believe what Joel said to me.


HONOKA

What did your BFF say?


AUGUST

We are not best friends forever.

(solemnly) I’m the only one who will talk to him.

(looks to see if he’s around)

Anyways, he said that if I really was your friend I’d know what the new ride is gonna be.


HONOKA

Huh? I don’t know what you’re talking about.


AUGUST

Oh come on, I see you spying on the

engineers whenever they’re on site. I know you know.


HONOKA

Hey! I don’t spy on them okay.


AUGUST

(desperate) Please can you tell me?


HONOKA

Uhhhh...


AUGUST

You can trust me.

Honoka turns abruptly to face him.

HONOKA

Fine. It’s going to be a drop ride.


AUGUST

Ugh, I hate those.


HONOKA

(dramatically) Straight into a cave in hell.


AUGUST

(stunned) Holy shit, really?! That’s-


Honoka stops him before going any further and giggles.


HONOKA

No! (slaps him playfully)

Come on, we work at Rainbow Wood.


AUGUST

So what, you’re never going to tell me then?


HONOKA

You’ll see it when everyone else does. After a few more months you’ll probably figure it out for yourself.


They stuff the food in her locker, leaving out a bag of chips and an energy drink. Honoka grabs her construction hat and tool belt.

HONOKA (CONT'D)

It’s going to be a hell of a ride though.

(changes topic) Are you working on any new firework displays?


AUGUST

(coyly) Maybe, you’ll have to see when everyone else does.

(then caves) Actually I’m trying to make one of Peanut’s face.


HONOKA

Your dog?


AUGUST

(super proud) Yeah.


HONOKA

That’s not possible though, right?


AUGUST

Most definitely, but I’m bored. It’s the same show day after day...


Honoka downs some chips. August takes notice.


AUGUST (CONT'D)

Tight budget?


She nods, slumping against her locker. August nods knowingly.


HONOKA

I’ve spent everything on student loans, rent, internet, insurance-


HONOKA (CONT'D)

Ughh, I’m so close to going back home and living with my parents.


Honoka dramatically shivers.

AUGUST

Hey, at least your parents are cool.


HONOKA

Yeah, but they smother me. (starts to freak out)

I can never get any time alone!


AUGUST

Whoa, okay. Relax. They can’t hurt you here.


HONOKA

(desperately) You don’t happen to know a way to get a ton of money really fast with little to no effort?


August lights up.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

No gambling.


AUGUST

What? (laughs)

No. I was going to say, you could show Evelyn some of your designs. I hear they’re looking for a new and bright eyed junior engineer.


HONOKA

Really? No way, they’d never choose me.


AUGUST

You’ve been working here for almost two years right? These rides would fall apart without you.


Honoka thinks about it.


HONOKA

Fine. Then you should ask to switch up the fire display. If your ambitious enough to paint your dogs face in the night sky, then you deserve a chance.


August contemplates this and puffs his chest out.


AUGUST

Alright then.


HONOKA

Alright.


AUGUST

We can do this.


HONOKA

(laughs) We can do this!


Honoka straps on her construction hat and closes her locker. JOEL (man in his late thirties, another pyrotechnic engineer) lurks by.

JOEL

Hey kids.


AUGUST

Ah! Jesus Joel.


JOEL

Couldn’t help but overhear your uh convo. I know how you could make money fast with little to no effort.


HONOKA

(excited) You do?


AUGUST

(annoyed) You do?


JOEL

Have you ever seen the show Sugar Meet Daddy?


AUGUST

Ew, what?


JOEL

It’s my wife’s favorite reality TV show. A cute girl like you Honoka could be a sugar baby.


Their mouths drop to the floor.

AUGUST

Dude! What the fuck!?


JOEL

Whoa, whoa I’m just spit balling here.


HONOKA

(bursts out laughing) That’s a good one Joel.


JOEL

Some rich person will pay simply for your company.


HONOKA

(still giggling) Yeah... no.


JOEL

Seems like minimal effort to me.


AUGUST

She doesn’t need to do that.


JOEL

They’ll pay for all your shit too.


This causes her to pause and contemplate.


HONOKA

Pay for all my shit... (then)

Out of curiosity how would I even get into that?


JOEL

They use these apps on the show.


AUGUST

(to Honoka) But this is ridiculous right? Right?!


HONOKA

(laughs awkwardly) Totally.


Joel laughs along with her and stops suddenly after checking his watch.


JOEL

(to August) We gotta go.


AUGUST

(sighs) Fine, but you two are crazy.


HONOKA

August chill, we’re just giving you a hard time.


After saluting a goodbye, Honoka looks up sugar babies on her phone. An article pops up, “Sugar baby left for dead in a hotel mattress.”

HONOKA (CONT'D)

Oh. Shit.


Scrolls down and sees the title of the next article “Best way to pay off student loans? Sugar dating more popular than ever!” And again she’s intrigued.


EXT. RAINBOW WOOD, CONSTRUCTION SITE - DAY

It’s a hot day, but Honoka brightens when she sees the engineers approach, she stops to spy on them. EVELYN (a women in her fifties, like Glenn from Superstore), gets her workers attention.


EVELYN

(smells the air and sighs) Morning everyone, I have a feeling it’s going to be another colorful day.


The employees look exhausted and groan. Evelyn’s overly positive personality isn’t very popular. Honoka feels bad and speaks up.

HONOKA

The colorfulest!


Everyone stares at Honoka and she blushes. Evelyn greets her with a wave before getting back to business.


EVELYN

(cheerfully) Let me know if anybody needs me. I’ll be by to bring water.

(serious) So no one faints today.


They all disperse as Honoka watches intently.


JUMP - It’s the end of the day. Honoka is exhausted and sweating. She heads over to the construction site and sees Evelyn working alone on an unidentifiable animatronic. She pumps herself up before walking over.


HONOKA

Hey, Evelyn?

She immediately pulls out a bottle of water.

EVELYN

Honoka! How have you been?


HONOKA

Good good, (clears her throat) I was wondering-


EVELYN

(interrupts) Do you need some water dear?


HONOKA

Yeah actually. (takes a long sip and cringes)

I was wondering if you heard about any junior engineer positions opening up?


EVELYN

You want to be an engineer?!


HONOKA

(shrugs) That’s what I went to school for.


EVELYN

Oh you got to send me your resume!


HONOKA

Really? For all you know I could be

terrible. I mean, I’m not though, I promise! My animatronics are great.


EVELYN

(chuckles) It’s the least I could do.

(leans in close) You’re the only one who acknowledged my existence this morning. And I see you fix problems all over the park. That’s no easy feat.


HONOKA

If there was a magical button I could press that would fix everything I would do it if it meant not seeing another child cry cause their favorite ride is closed.


EVELYN

(smiles) Why don’t you send me your designs too?


Honka is taken aback by this.


HONOKA

Ah yes I will! Thank you!


EVELYN

See you around?


HONOKA

(smiles) See you around!


Before getting back to work, Honoka gets a text from her roommate Alyssa. The display reads:”Hey. could you not come home right away. Derek and I need some alone time.”


HONOKA (CONT'D)

Bleh...


Another text pops up. The display reads:”And can you pick up some more shampoo?”


EXT. EIFFEL TOWER IN VEGAS - NIGHT

Honoka walks till she gets in good view of the Eiffel Tower and collapses on a bench. WREN (in her mid twenties, quietly confident) sits down on the bench next to Honoka’s, she looks just as tired. They both gaze up at the tower, until two drunk college students, PETER and LUKE approach.


PETER (chants)

Viva Las Vegas!! Viva Las Vegas!!! (sees tower and tilts his head)

Hang on... when did we get to Paris?


LUKE

(laughing) Viva la nothin’! You lost all your money dumbass!


Wren and Honoka both laugh at this. Startled they look over, noticing each others presence for the first time. They slowly turn their heads back to the students.


PETER

Whatever, I have plenty more where that came from.


The students laugh while Honoka and Wren scoff. They stare at each other once more, turning silent when they gaze back up at the tower.


PETER (CONT'D)

It sure is beautiful here in Paris.


Peter looks up so far he falls backwards, crashing on the cement floor.


WREN HONOKA

Oh my god!


HONOKA

OH!


Honoka rushes over.


LUKE

Nooooo!


Honoka grabs Luke so he doesn’t fall too. Wren calls 911.

HONOKA

(struggling) Got you.


Luke looks down at his friend.

LUKE

What happened to my buddy!?


Luke wraps Honoka in an uncomfortable hug and tears up.


LUKE (CONT'D)

Tell me he’s going to be alright.


HONOKA

(muffled) He’ll be alright.


JUMP - Wren and Honoka stand shell shocked, Honoka has a warm blanket wrapped around her. They watch the ambulance leave.

WREN

He’s totally getting his stomach pumped.


HONOKA

Uh huh.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

I-I’m Honoka by the way.


WREN

Wren.

More awkward silence.


WREN (CONT'D)

Cigarette?


HONOKA

(shrugs) Sure.


Wren digs in her designer purse.


HONOKA (CONT'D) I love your purse.


She hands Honoka a cigarette and lights it.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

(coughs violently) Wish I could afford one like that.


WREN

(laughs) Me too. My sugar daddy bought this for me.


Honoka’s world stops and all she hears is Joel echoing in her head about sugar babies that she doesn’t hear Wren’s question. Wren smiles and points to her name tag from work.


WREN (CONT'D)

You work at Rainbow Wood.


HONOKA

Yeah, but I’m just a mechanic.


WREN

Cool. (looks at her phone) Have a goodnight.


She turns away. Honoka, sees this as an opportunity.


HONOKA

Wait!

Honoka lightly taps Wren’s shoulder, making her recoil a bit.


HONOKA

Oh sorry.


WREN

What?


HONOKA

I’ll be quick. So, a coworker brought it up this morning that I should look into being a sugar baby.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

(awkwardly) Hilarious am I right?


WREN

Damn did you kick him in the balls.


HONOKA

Naw, it's just Joel being Joel.


Wren’s eyes are blank. Honoka cuts to the chase.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

Anyways, do you recommend? I’m in desperate need of fast money.


WREN

Do I recommend? If you want money... than yes.


HONOKA

Good to know.


WREN

Is that all? Cause I need to-


HONOKA

(cuts her off) I know we just met, but you seem like a nice person for helping that drunk guy.


WREN

What do you what?


HONOKA

Could we meet sometime? I have so many questions about your... profession.


WREN

(laughs) Look I started a month ago, I’m not the best person-


HONOKA

(interrupts) That’s okay.


An idea hits Wren when she glances to Honoka’s name tag once more.


WREN

Can you get people in Rainbow Wood for free?


HONOKA

Technically yes.


WREN

If you let my sister and I in, I’ll tell you everything I know.


HONOKA

Deal, not a problem.

Wren holds out her hand.

WREN

Give me your phone.


She snatches Honoka’s phone from her and types in her number.


WREN (CONT'D)

There. I should really get going.

(yawns) I’ve been out all day.


HONOKA

Yeah, I should head back too. I guess I’ll text you then!


WREN

(laughs) And I’ll text you back.


They finally part ways.


INT. WREN’S APARTMENT, LIVING ROOM - NIGHT

Wren walks in to see her babysitter GERALD (in his sixtes, unemployed gambling addict) sleeping on the couch.


WREN

Hey! Get up.

He jumps awake.

GERALD

About god damn time. Had fun on your date?


He stands up to stretch. She hands him cash.

WREN

Not really.


GERALD

Well, I think that-


WREN

(interrupts) I don’t need your advice.


GERALD

Give him at least one more date before you kick him to the curb. It can be awkward the first few times you go out with someone new.


WREN

Yeah, super awkward. You have no idea.


GERALD

Yeah, I really don’t. Never listen to me about dating advice.


He gives a big belly laugh then calms down.

GERALD (CONT'D)

Your dear sister is in bed.


WREN

Thanks. (jokingly)

And don’t spend this money on the slots. Get some new clothes or deodorant, you’re disgusting.


He flips her off with a smile.

GERALD

Take care.

And walks out the front door.


INT. WREN’S APARTMENT, BEDROOM - NIGHT

Wren’s sister Chloe (twenty seven with down syndrome) is tucked in bed drawing. Their shared bedroom is colorful with way too many stuffed animals.

CHLOE

Hey stranger, how’d it go?


WREN

Oh who cares. I’m way more interested in what you did today.


CHLOE

(laughs) Check this out.

She hands Wren her drawing of them together riding horses.


WREN

Chloe, this is amazing.


CHLOE

I’m getting better, huh? The color pencils you got me are going to good use. See the different shades of grass.


WREN

Yeah and I can actually tell what you drew this time.


CHLOE

(sarcastically) Haha.


Wren moves Chloe’s wheelchair to the side so she can jump into her bed to give a goodnight hug, but Chloe notices a bruise on her wrist.

CHLOE (CONT'D)

What’s that?


WREN

Huh?


CHLOE

What happened?

Wren rips her hand away.

WREN

It’s nothing.


CHLOE

If someone did this to you, I’ll fuck them up.

Wren holds her hand.

WREN

Believe me, I know you would.


CHLOE

Just tell me the time and place. No one picks on my little sister.


WREN

(laughs) I can take care of it myself.


She gets out of the bed to get ready as Chloe gives her a pointed look. Wren quickly changes the topic.


WREN (CONT'D)

So, how would you like to go to Rainbow Wood in a few days?


CHLOE

No way?!


WREN

Yes way! I’ll get you out for the day.


CHLOE

(dreamily) Sounds fantastic. I love love that place.

(dramatically) Well how am I suppose to sleep now. Knowing I’m going to Rainbow Wood soon?!


WREN

You’ll find a way Picasso.

Chloe yawns despite her excitement and Wren giggles.


CHLOE

Night.


WREN

Night.


INT. WREN'S APARTMENT, BEDROOM - LATER

Wren in her silky pajamas crawls into her bed to see her phone light up with messages from Honoka. The display reads: “Hey! Let me know when you have time to hangout?” More messages come through. The display reads: “This is Honoka btw, the person you met tonight. If you were wondering. Have a good night! Again:)”

Wren replies back. The display reads: “Hey, yeah I remember. How many people can you let in? I have some friends I want you to meet.” Honoka immediately replies back. The display reads: “As many as you want!” Wren gives a weary smile before falling asleep.


EXT. RAINBOW WOOD - DAY

Honoka meets Wren and Chloe. Followed by two other sugar babies JAIME (early twenties, doesn’t seem so smart but she is), and CALYPSO (in her late thirties, a little jaded).


HONOKA

So glad you all made it! But, here’s the thing, we need to be discrete.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

(then) Isn’t this exciting!?


WREN

Sure. This is Jaime and Calypso. And my sister Chloe.


CHLOE

I agree, this is exciting!


Honoka shakes their hands. Jaime bounces up and down happily, and Calypso looks at her phone to avoid eye contact.

HONOKA

Stay right here.


Honoka peeks around the corner to check the perimeter. She waves them over.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

(quietly) Okay, come on.


They all walk swiftly. Honoka abruptly presses them against a wall and nods her head in a general direction. Waving her hands like she's directing airplanes. Chloe giggles a bit.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

(whispers) Down this way.


Everyone rushes into the park. Honoka turns to them nonchalantly, throwing her construction hat on.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

So, let’s meet at the food court around twelve. They nod at each other.


CHLOE

Thanks for letting us in!

Wren and Jaime smile at her.

CALYPSO

This is pretty cool, I guess.


HONOKA

Of course! And hey, have a colorful day.


Honoka cringes at what she just said as she goes back to work.


EXT. RAINBOW WOOD, FOOD COURT - DAY

Honoka brings over several drinks to their table. Wren walks over after leaving Chloe to watch a nearby musical show.

JAIME

This is strawberry lemonade with a hint of mint, right?


HONOKA

Yep.


JAIME

(proudly) Knew it.

Wren sits down with a huff.

WREN

We have 30 minutes and 43 seconds till the show’s over.


HONOKA

That’s very precise.


CALYPSO

(to Wren) When are you gonna tell Chloe about how you’ve actually been getting your money?


WREN

Never if I can help it. It’s noneof her business.


JAIME

If you say so.

They all go quiet.

CALYPSO

God, does everything here always smell so sweet and buttery? Makes me want to throw up... I love it.


HONOKA (laughs)

Then you’ll like me cause I smell like that all the time.


Calypso says nothing. Honoka awkwardly takes a sip of her drink


HONOKA (CONT'D)

So, how do you all know each other?


The three of them look at one another.

JAIME

There was this one time-


CALYPSO

(stops Jaime) Hey, hey. She’s not ready to know about that.


Honoka looks back and forth between them.

WREN

We know each other, let’s leave it at that.

(to Jaime and Calypso) Honoka iis curious about finding a sugar daddy.


Jaime giggles and Calypso laughs along.

JAIME

Oh that’s you?!


WREN

(to Jaime ) Yes, I mentioned her name in all my texts. How many Honoka’s do you think I know?


Jaime continues laughing and Wren snickers.

CALYPSO

(clears throat) Sorry, you don’t look like the type of person I’d imagine doing this.


HONOKA

Hey, I totally get it. I'm not great to look at but I could put on glasses and take them off to show my true beauty.


JAIME

Classic.


WREN

It’s not about the way you look... it’s your whole vibe in general.


HONOKA

Oh.


CALYPSO

Why are you even interested? Youhate your job or something?


HONOKA

(exasperated) Yes! I want to be an engineer. But I can't pursue it because I have a lot of student loans to pay off and never have time to work on my designs.

(clears her throat and continues to babble) I figure I can go on dates on the weekends. Just for a little bit, till I’ve saved up enough. Cause I can't go back to living with my parents!


JAIME

(comforting) It's okay, they can't hurt you here.

Wren and Calypso look unsure.

CALYPSO

Once you start, you’ll never stop.


WREN

And it will be hard to find someone that will only agree to seeing you on the weekends.


HONOKA

I haven’t thought much about that.


JAIME

But, the extravagant vacations are fun!


WREN

Eh.


CALYPSO

That’s besides the point. Listen, Wren, Jamie, and I have legitimate reasons for doing this. Student loans.

(scoffs) Please that’s nothing, you can take care of that yourself.


WREN

Calypso, take it easy.


HONOKA

No, I-I uh.

Honoka is saved when August walks up behind her.

AUGUST

Honoka?


HONOKA

Hi! (relieved) This is my friend August. He works here as well.


AUGUST

Interesting... (jokes to Honoka) I didn’t know you had other friends besides me. Did you sneak them in?!


WREN

(cuts in) We’re only here to tell her about our experience with sugar dating.


AUGUST

Oh, nice, nice. (realization hits) So you’re all?


Calypso takes a long sip from her drink before answering him.


CALYPSO

Sugar babies? Yes.


AUGUST

You don’t say. (to Honoka) Can we talk for a moment?


He practically lifts her out of her seat and leads her so she is out of their eyesight.


HONOKA

(nonchalantly) How’s it goin’?


AUGUST

Are you serious right now?


HONOKA

I don’t know, kinda.


AUGUST

Oh I’m gonna kill Joel.


HONOKA

Relax, you have to admit it’s not a bad idea.


AUGUST

It’s a terrible idea. Something like this could put you in serious danger.


HONOKA

August, I’m aware of the potential dangers okay. All I’m doing now is learning about it. I haven’t done anything.


August takes a breath.

AUGUST

I’m guessing no jobs are opening up?


HONOKA

Evelyn said she will check for me.


AUGUST

That’s amazing!


HONOKA

It is! But I don’t know, I don’t trust my luck, I need a plan B.

August leans up against a wall.

HONOKA (CONT'D)

Will I be seeing a new firework display soon?


AUGUST

(shakes head) Not looking good.


HONOKA

Sorry my friend.


AUGUST

No need to be sorry. It’ll happen eventually.


HONOKA

(solemnly) I don’t have time for eventually.


He peeks around to see the sugar babies. They all wave at him.


AUGUST

You don’t have to be like those girls.


HONOKA

Most of them seem to have a pretty cool life actually.

August raises an eyebrow.

HONOKA (CONT'D)

When Joel brought up a sugar daddy could pay for everything I got excited. And I want to get out, travel, live a little while I’m young.


AUGUST

Honoka, if you want to live a little I’ll take you to a viewing of Rocky Horror. That shit gets crazy.


Honoka ignores this.

HONOKA

Plus odds are no one will match with me anyways.


AUGUST

(defeated) Someone will, Honoka.


August and Honoka have a stare off. August looks away first.


HONOKA

It’s fine. I’m fine. Go back to those fireworks, you pyro!


She pushes him away. August gives her a worried look before Honoka joins the sugar babies.


HONOKA (CONT'D)

Where were we.


JAIME

That you’re not really sugar baby material.


HONOKA

Maybe not now, but with some guidance?


CALYPSO

(interrupts) Alright. We don’t have much time left.

All of them glance at Chloe enjoying and singing along with the show.


CALYPSO

You’ll want to use the app SugarMeetDaddy, it’s the safest and has the most success.


HONOKA

Oh like that one show!


CALYPSO

Yeah, that show sucks. They always pick young annoying rich guys for them to date.


JAIME

It’s so unrealistic.


Honoka laughs and takes out her phone to take notes.


WREN

Your first date, like any other first date, should be out in public.


JAIME

And you’ll need to set up a few safe words like no, stop, Jesus Christ your sick!


HONOKA (typing)

Jesus Ch... (realizes) Wait. (to Jaime) But good to know, thank you.


WREN

If you decide to make a profile, I guess I could help you.

Jaime nods enthusiastically.

HONOKA

Really?


WREN

Yeah. You should of seen Chloe's face when I told her we were coming here, I owe you.


HONOKA

She’s welcome whenever.


They hear the crowd cheer, the show is over.


WREN

That’s my cue.


HONOKA

And my lunch break is officially over.


JAIME

(happily) Let’s do this again sometime!


HONOKA

Okay!


WREN

I’m down.


CALYPSO

You all knock yourselves out. I’ve gave my help. Good luck with whatever sugar baby club shit this is turning out to be.


HONOKA

If you ever want to join-


CALYPSO

I won’t.


WREN

(to Honoka) Don’t mind her.


HONOKA

Right. (smiles) See ya. They all wave goodbye to Honoka.


JAIME

(to Wren) I like her.


WREN

She’s okay.


CALYPSO

(ignores) Can we get some of those rice krispies? If I don’t get one for my daughter she will murder me.


Jaime wraps an arm around Calypso’s shoulders to comfort her.

JAIME

I think that’s a great idea.


EXT. RAINBOW WOOD, CONSTRUCTION SITE - NIGHT

Honoka catches Evelyn crouching next to her animatronic. She stops her podcast about sugar babies to walk over.

HONOKA

About done for the day?


EVELYN

Oh hey! Almost. (then) I asked about any junior engineer positions opening up.

Honoka perks up at this.

EVELYN (CONT'D)

I’m afraid the one slot that was open just got filled. (sighs) By my boss’s kid. (shrugs)

If it’s worth anything, I really want you on my team, so I’m going to keep trying, believe me.


HONOKA

Thank you.


EVELYN

But! (sing songy) I did swipe you some coupons for drinks at the food court.


She hands Honoka several pieces of paper.

HONOKA

(laughs) These will go to good use.


EVELYN

Good. It took me awhile to break in you know. I wanted this job so much that all the hard work was worth it and to be at this place everyday! Can’t beat it.


HONOKA

I wanted to work here since I was a kid. (reminisces)

My family couldn’t afford it often, so when we did go, we’d make the most of it. I have nothing but good memories of this place. (sighs) I don’t think I’ll have enough money to live here to even try.


EVELYN

It’s going to happen. (thinks of idea)Hey! Have you heard of side hustles? You could sell something off Etsy! My friend makes these scarfs that people go crazy for.

Honoka smiles.

HONOKA

I’m way ahead of you on those hustles.


EVELYN

Well whatever it is, sign me up!


Honoka chokes back her laugh.

HONOKA

You bet! See ya.


EVELYN

See you.


Turning to walk away Honoka takes out her phone to continue her podcast.


MONTAGE OVER A FEW WEEKS

A) INT. HONOKA’S APARTMENT - DAY

Honoka texts Wren and Jaime. “What’s the harm in making a profile.”


B) EXT. CAFE - DAY

Wren and Jaime begin helping Honoka with the app. Her pictures are pretty old, so Jaime takes a few pictures of Honoka herself before picking up the tab. Honoka sketches some designs.


C) INT. VARIOUS APARTMENTS - DAY

The three of them are texting back and forth. Honoka sends them sugar daddy profiles to check out. Wren and Jaime keep replying with “Absolutely not, has an asian fetish.”


D) EXT. CALYPSO’S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Calypso’s sugar daddy drives her home. She greets her disapproving daughter at the door.


E) INT. JAIME’S SUGAR DADDY’S HOUSE - NIGHT

Jaime is having dinner with her sugar daddy, they seem like they’re having a good time.


F) INT. WREN’S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Wren examines a big bruise on her waist.


G) INT. HONOKA’S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Honoka scrolls through her phone for any matches.


EXT. RAINBOW WOOD, FOOD COURT - NIGHT

All packed up to leave Honoka spots Wren and Chloe, who are enjoying the park again.

CHLOE

Honoka!


HONOKA

Still here huh? Did you have a colorful - uh I mean fun day?


CHLOE

(dead serious) I wish I could live here.


HONOKA

I used to feel the same way until I slept on site for a week to fix the Rainy Rainbow Rollercoaster. Didn’t have time to eat or brush my teeth or shower.


CHLOE

Gross.


WREN

Any matches yet?


HONOKA

Nope, but my pictures kind of suck so...


WREN

(laughs) Uh no they don’t. We all worked really hard on that!


HONOKA

I don’t know if I could go through with it anyway.


WREN

I get it.

Honoka thinks this over and glances at the dark sky.

HONOKA

Are you staying for the fireworks?


WREN

Actually, I think we’re ready to call it a day-

Chloe interrupts Wren by nudging her side.

WREN (CONT'D)

I mean, yes. Of course we are.


HONOKA

Come with me, I want to show you something.

Honoka motions for them to follow.


EXT. RAINBOW WOOD, BEHIND THE RAINBOW CASTLE - NIGHT

The three of them make their way to a secluded area where the fireworks get set off. August sees them and immediately rushes over.

CHLOE

Cool.


WREN

Is this where-

August cuts her off.

AUGUST

Whoa, whoa, whoa, you can’t be here!


HONOKA

Come on, we’ll be all the way in the back. You won’t even notice us.


AUGUST

What if somebody sees you.


HONOKA

The only other person here is Joel.

She waves to Joel.

HONOKA (CONT'D)

And he’s not going to say anything. (to Joel) Right?!


JOEL

I didn’t see nothin’, carry on.


AUGUST

Oh come on Joel, back me up.


August grumbles and walks away to grab a few face masks for them.

AUGUST (CONT'D)

For the smoke. Don’t know why you wanted to bring them back the greatest way to watch fireworks.


WREN

I’ve always wanted to see a big display fired up.


AUGUST

(taken back) You have?


WREN

Did you arrange all this?


AUGUST

I did. Kind of- (pauses)It was a team effort.


August catches Honoka looking at her phone for matches.


HONOKA

Can’t wait to see it, August.

He beams at this. Soon enough Joel sets them on fire and they shoot up. The four of them watch and clap. Honoka leans over to August.

HONOKA (CONT'D)

Sorry about Peanut.

Chloe ease drops.

AUGUST

Oh I snuck him in.


HONOKA

You what?


AUGUST

Shush! Right. About. Now!


The finale arrives and fireworks go off that expectantly look nothing like a dogs head.


CHLOE

Was that supposed to be something?


AUGUST

(embarrassed) I was trying to make a display of my dogs face.


CHLOE

With fireworks? That’s impossible.

August laughs.

JOEL

I saw a hint of ol’ Peanut up there.


Chloe, Wren, and Honoka all laugh.


AUGUST

(dismissively but smiles) Yeah, yeah.


WREN

(to Honoka) Thanks for bringing us back here. This is awesome.

They all clap when it’s over.


EXT. HONOKA’S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Honoka sets her bag down by her front door to take off her shoes and sees a voicemail pop up from her dad.


HONOKA’S DAD (VOICEMAIL)

Yo, yo! Have you made a decision? (laughs)Grandpa is relentless.


Her mind drifts off when she gets a notification. It’s her first match on SugarMeetDaddy.


HONOKA

No way.


It’s Kaito Fuchizaki (an Japanese American man in his seventies). In his photo he smiles wide. Looking down his profile she sees he runs his own chain of successful restaurants. Her dad’s voice comes back into focus.


HONOKA’S DAD (VOICEMAIL)

Call us back when you can! And be careful down there.


HONOKA

(to herself) I will.

She rips her shoes off and opens the front door.

END OF EPISODE



Recent Posts
bottom of page