top of page

Danseurs - Pilot

Logline: 14-year-old Masu is determined to be a perfect ballet dancer, but when a new family comes to town, his priorities change once he's no longer the only boy at the studio.


EXT. DANCE STUDIO - DAY

Brown parched trees, factory smoke that stains the sky, and a dried up lake, surrounds the only dance studio in Colfax. Classical music plays and abruptly comes to a halt when...


INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - DAY

MASU, a fourteen year old Japanese American boy, enters through the double doors. Dressed in his jeans and wrinkly plaid shirt from school. Everyone stares at him. He looks down to his watch.


MASU

Yes!


He does a small fist pump.


MASU

Give me some!


He gives some high fives to the dancers around him. Among them are KAYLA (outgoing and fun) and CHARLOTTE (thinks she’s already a professional dancer).


KAYLA

You made it!

(then)

Dang, there goes my plan to distract everyone with my dinosaur leotard, so you could sneak in.


She points at her outfit. A few of the dinosaurs on her leotard are bedazzled. Masu leans in to look.


MASU

(impressed)

Great bedazzle work.


Charlotte shrugs, only slightly impressed.


CHARLOTTE

You boy, cannot be Masu. I’m probably seeing a ghost right now.


Charlotte pinches him hard on the shoulder.


MASU

Ow, Charlotte! What the heck?!


CHARLOTTE

Just checking.


He brushes her off.


MASU

You’re not going to believe it, but after some trial and error... I figured it out.


Kayla and Charlotte exchange a confused glance.


MASU

The fastest route to get to the studio!


KAYLA

(laughs)

I don’t think there’s many ways to get here from school.


MASU

We might of drove through someone’s yard.


KAYLA

Dude, just carpool with us next time. I can only come up with so many ways to cover for you.

(then)

And fail miserably.


MASU

I wish, but my stepmom wants to drive me, she says it’s our only time to “bond”. Plus I’m helping her design the baby’s new room.

(then)

And I give her credit for looking at paint samples and driving at the same time.


KAYLA

That sounds difficult.


CHARLOTTE

It’s amazing neither of you are dead yet.


KAYLA

Regardless, I’m proud of you for making it on time.


Masu beams when Kayla gives him a hug.


CHARLOTTE

Yeah, sure, whatever. But you should probably get changed immediately or your late streak will continue.


MASU

Shoot!


Masu starts to bolt down the hall until an arm emerges from a nearby office door, pulling him in.


INT. ROBERT KELLY’S OFFICE - DAY

ROBERT KELLY, a man in his forties (always called by his full name. He can be strict but laid back when not teaching), is the only teacher at the studio. He tosses Masu to the chair across from his desk. Metals and photos of his time in the military are framed perfectly on the walls.


ROBERT KELLY

(nonchalantly)

Masuda, thank you for stopping by.


Masu darts his eyes around to his new surroundings.


MASU

Didn’t have much choice since you yanked me in here!


Robert Kelly sits down to face him.


MASU

(panicking)

Am I in trouble? Because I swear I was going to be on time for class today.


Robert Kelly stays silent, interlacing his hands together.


MASU

My step mom can only get out of work so fast! Sure, I guess I could save time by wearing my dance uniform under my school clothes...

(thinks about it)

Wait, I take that back, that would suck. Please don’t make me do that man!


Robert Kelly cuts him off with the raise of his hand.


ROBERT KELLY

You’re not in trouble. But, I do need your help with something.


He gingerly looks up to Masu, who’s listening intently.


ROBERT KELLY

I found out my sister and her family are moving into town. Her kids will be dancing at my studio.


MASU

I... I didn’t know you had a sister.


Robert Kelly startles Masu as he gets up to pace around.


ROBERT KELLY

I haven’t seen her since ending my service years ago in Seattle. She never even told me her kids were into ballet.

(then)

She always hated it.


Masu goes rigid at Robert Kelly’s confession.


ROBERT KELLY

Anyways, I would like you to welcome my Niece and Nephew. To show them around and be their ally.


MASU

You mean, be their friend right? Why me?


ROBERT KELLY

Because you are good at this sort of thing.


Robert Kelly hastily looks out his window that shows the parking lot.


MASU

Sir, are you okay?


Still staring out at the parking lot.


ROBERT KELLY

I’m perfectly fine.


MASU

You sure? I think, you complimented me? Thanks Sir!


This gets his attention.


ROBERT KELLY

I would never.


MASU

Oh but you did! Never thought I’d see the day when-


ROBERT KELLY

(interrupts)

Don’t tell anyone.


Masu shuts his mouth quickly.


MASU

I won’t.


Robert Kelly sits down. Masu, who can’t go long without talking, goes back to the matter at hand.


MASU

Just so we’re clear, you’re passing your responsibility off on me?


ROBERT KELLY

Exactly. Sometimes I’m not the best at dealing with kids.


Masu laughs.


MASU

You’ve got that right.


Robert Kelly glares at him.


MASU

I’m sorry.


He softens his gaze.


ROBERT KELLY

(sighs)

What do you say?


MASU

Robert Kelly, Sir. I’d love to help you out.

(then quickly)

There’s a lot on my plate with ballet and...


Masu tries to avoid Robert Kelly’s desperate face.


MASU

You know I have to work so much harder than everyone else as the only boy here.


ROBERT KELLY

I appreciate how dedicated you are, but there is more to life than ballet.


Masu gasps.


ROBERT KELLY

It’s true.

(contemplates)

Kind of. And it’s better you know this now than later.


Masu plays with a loose string on his backpack.


MASU

(defeated)

Okay, I’ll do it.


Robert Kelly lets out the breath he’s been holding in. They both lean back in their chairs, crossing their legs.


ROBERT KELLY

Wonderful.


MASU

(laughs)

You owe me though.


ROBERT KELLY

No I don’t.


MASU

No you don’t. Please forget I said that.


Robert Kelly’s gaze is glued back to the window facing the parking lot.


MASU

Uh, when do they get here?


ROBERT KELLY

(nonchalantly)

Today.


Masu perks up.


MASU

Today?!


They see a car pull up outside.


ROBERT KELLY

That’s them.


MASU

That’s them?!


ROBERT KELLY

Stop that!


Robert Kelly glances to the other side of his office. Masu’s eyes follow. All the other dancers have their faces pressed up against the tiny window, trying to eavesdrop.


ROBERT KELLY

Don’t let the other dancers ambush my family with questions. And no repeating anything I “might” of said about my sister.


MASU

(laughs)

Why, are you scared of her or something?


ROBERT KELLY

(quickly)

No.

(then)

I mean it, that stays between us.


Masu swallows thickly.


MASU

Got it.


INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - DAY

They nod to each other before Robert Kelly heads to the front door. After Robert Kelly is out of sight Masu gets immediately attacked by the other dancers with questions.


CHARLOTTE

Why did he pull you into his office?


MASU

Well, if you must know.

(jokingly)

He told me, I was the best ballet dancer he’s ever seen.


Everyone laughs.


KAYLA

Oh you, what really happened?


Masu pretends to be hurt by this.


CHARLOTTE

Is another boy coming? One that’s tall and strong enough to actually lift us up.


MASU

I’m working on that!


Masu sneers at her. The dancers around them murmur with excitement.


KAYLA

Tell us what’s going on!


Masu motions for all of them to lean in.


MASU

Robert Kelly’s Niece and Nephew are going to be dancing here. He asked me to show them around.


The dancers shriek and giggle at this information.


ROBERT KELLY

Masuda!


Everyone freezes. The dancers part like the red sea so Masu can see Robert Kelly, with him is his sister ANNIE and her kids, ERIN (rebel and sensitive) and her older brother LEVI (gentle giant, his head hangs low).


ROBERT KELLY

Everyone into Studio A please.


Masu tries to leave like everyone else.


ROBERT KELLY

(to Masu)

Get back here!


Masu pauses and awkwardly waves at the newcomers. Annie waves back. Levi and Erin bicker as if they don’t even see him.


ERIN

Levi, there’s nothing in this town. The trees are brown!


LEVI

Shh relax, it’s not that bad.


Annie nudges her kids to greet Masu.


MASU

Hi.


LEVI/ERIN

(mumbles)

Hi,


ROBERT KELLY

This is my sister Annie. And her kids Erin and Levi. This is Masuda.


Levi clearly towers over Masu, so Masu stands up straighter and clears his throat.


MASU

Ah, it’s Masu actually. Robert Kelly’s the only one that insists on calling me Masuda.

Erin looks at Masu questionably.


ANNIE

That sounds like my big brother. Lovely to meet you.


Erin scoffs loud enough for everyone to notice.


ERIN

Is that why you call my uncle by his full name? For some form of passive aggressive revenge.


ANNIE/LEVI

Erin!


MASU

No!

(then)

We all do.

(having a eureka moment and laughs)

Though, I’m not sure why.


Erin looks to Robert Kelly.


ERIN

I’m not going to call you that.


ROBERT KELLY

That’s fine.


MASU

What?! So we don’t have to say Robert Kelly Sir? Cause that can be a mouthful.


Robert Kelly ignores him as Annie leans over.


ANNIE

(to Robert Kelly)

Thanks for letting them come today.


He shifts around a bit, keeping his eyes on the ground, away from his sister’s face.


ROBERT KELLY

I never thought you’d move to a small town.


ANNIE

Oh me too. We all needed a change though.

(then)

It’s nice to see you.


He looks over to the kids just staring at each other, like they’re about to start a duel.


ROBERT KELLY

Why didn’t you tell me they started ballet?


Annie stays silent for a moment.


ANNIE

They only started a few years ago.

(then)

We didn’t want to bother you with your new life and all.


ROBERT KELLY

I see.

(back to business)

We will be done at twenty hundred hours. You can pick them up then.


She gives him a mock salute.


ANNIE

Sounds like a plan, Robert Kelly Sir!

(to Levi and Erin)

Be nice kids.


She gives them side hugs. Robert Kelly watches her leave before turning back to the three of them.


ROBERT KELLY

Join in when you’re all settled. If you need anything, ask Masuda.


He hesitates for a moment.


ROBERT KELLY

After this no more special treatment. I expect you all to be on time to class like everyone else.


Levi pipes up, throwing his bag down in one of the lobby chairs.


LEVI

I’ll only be watching.

(declaring)

I’ve decided I won’t be dancing anymore.


Masu is taken aback by this but slightly relieved.


MASU

Oh, you aren’t?


ROBERT KELLY

Since when?


LEVI

Since, right now.


Masu looks back and forth between the two of them. Erin rolls her eyes, fidgeting with her hands.


ROBERT KELLY

Does your mom know this?


LEVI

Nope.


ROBERT KELLY

Well then.


With that Robert Kelly leaves them alone. However, before Masu can speak, Erin pushes passed her brother and corners him.


ERIN

Masu, was it?


He nods, trying to get away from her.


ERIN

You need to get me out of here and fast.


MASU

(squeaks)

Excuse me?


LEVI

(like Willy Wonka)

Erin, wait. Stop. Don’t.


Erin shoos her brother away with her hand and the other grips onto Masu’s shirt, wrinkling it further.


ERIN

There’s got to be a window, a vent, a secret bunker that leads to a secret tunnel that I can use to leave this building undetected.


MASU

A secret bunker? I don’t know anything!

(then)

Can you let me go?


ERIN

Not until you help me!


MASU

Okay, well tough cause I’m already doing a lot of that today, so...


She gives him a death glare.


MASU

Uh, what if I told you, I haven’t washed this shirt in like three or four weeks.


He flashes her a smile.


ERIN

Ugh! Disgusting!


She lets him go and continues to look around.


ERIN

I’ll find my own way out.


Masu and Levi try to follow her ever changing gazes.


MASU

You are not going anywhere.


ERIN

Oh really? Sounds like a challenge.


MASU

What? No!


Charlotte comes out of Studio A. Curious about their conversation.


MASU

Charlotte?! Where are you going?


Masu pulls her aside.


CHARLOTTE

To the bathroom. Is that okay?


MASU

Take Erin with you. So, she can set her stuff down.


CHARLOTTE

Isn’t that your job?


MASU

Come on, just do it! I can’t go in there... obviously.


Masu motions up and down his body.


CHARLOTTE

Whatever...

(to Erin)

Follow me.


ERIN

(to Masu)

She sucks, right?


MASU

Yeah... a little bit.


Erin catches Levi laughing at their exchange and pushes Masu and him aside to follow after Charlotte.


INT. DANCE STUDIO HALLWAY - DAY

The two dressing rooms are adjacent to each other. Separated by a water fountain. Masu looks up at Levi, wow he really is tall.


MASU

I’ll only be a minute dude.


Masu barely turns the doorknob before he hears something coming from the girl’s room.


CHARLOTTE (O.S.)

(distant)

Get down from there!


MASU

(to Levi)

What was that?


They hear Erin scream.


LEVI

(to Masu)

Is that?


MASU

I think so.


Charlotte walks out casually.


CHARLOTTE

Have fun with that.


INT. DANCE STUDIO A - DAY

Robert Kelly sets up the music on his iPad.


ROBERT KELLY

Sorry for the late start today.


A faint scream is heard in the background. Robert Kelly looks down the hallway.


ROBERT KELLY

Did anyone else hear that?


Everybody nods no. Charlotte walks in like nothing happened.


CHARLOTTE

Don’t worry, I’m here. We can start now.


This pulls Robert Kelly’s attention back to the room.


ROBERT KELLY

Right...

(to class)

Let’s warm up.


He starts the music.


INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - DAY

Masu and Levi stand still. Unsure of what to do.


MASU

(calling to her)

Erin, what’s going on in there? You okay?


ERIN

(muffled)

I’m stuck.


MASU

Oh my god!

Levi reaches for the door.


LEVI

(calling to her)

We’re coming in!


MASU

Hold up. This is just like a nightmare I’ve had before...


LEVI

My sister screaming?

(laughs)

Yeah me too.


Masu nervously laughs along and playfully slaps Levi’s shoulder.


MASU

Not that! Entering the inner fortress that is the girl’s dressing room.


Masu shivers and Levi cracks a smile.


LEVI

No better time to face your fear. You can stay out here if you want.


Levi boldly enters the room. Masu follows after a few deep breaths and looking longingly down the hall to the dance studio that plays soothing classical music.


INT. GIRL’S DRESSING ROOM - DAY

The boys get blasted with the smell of sweaty ballet slippers. Masu stares in wonder and rubs his eyes.


MASU

It’s everything I thought it would be...


Bags are thrown all over the floor. Clothes hang out of the lockers. Bobby pins and hairnets are sprinkled on the floor.


MASU

They’re ALL slobs! I knew it!

(looks to his watch)

Shoot... I’m missing the warm up.


The boys look up and see that past the lockers, Erin is stuck in a high window. She is struggling


MASU

How did you even get up there?!


ERIN

(muffled)

It wasn’t easy!

(then)

And it did require a head start.


LEVI

I’ll get her down.


Levi tries to climb the lockers but has trouble.


ERIN

(muffled)

Leave me alone Levi! You’re the reason why we had to move out here in the first place. I’m telling you, I have no problem breaking all the bones in my body to get out of here. I will limp my bloody limbs all the way to Seattle if I have to!


MASU

(to himself)

...Jeez.


Levi ignores Erin and thinks.


LEVI

(to Masu)

Do you have a ladder somewhere?


MASU

Ah yeah, good idea.

(to Erin, calling to her)

We’ll be right back!


ERIN

(muffled)

This is just a hiccup in my plan. Don’t think for a second that I’m giving up!


MASU

How about after we get you down, we go to class like we’re supposed to? Cause your plan seems like a lot of work and pain.


ERIN

(muffled)

I make no promises!


INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - DAY

Masu and Levi walk quickly past the windows of Studio A.


MASU

How did she... How did this... I don’t see how that happened!


LEVI

She’s a handful.


MASU

Did she really think she would make it out?


LEVI

It’s best not to question it.

(after a moment of silence)

Do you go to Colfax High?


MASU

I do.


LEVI

That’s where we’ll be going too. You’ll get use to Erin’s ways soon enough.


This dawns on Masu.


MASU

Oh.


Levi laughs.


LEVI

Not that you have to babysit us there too.


INT. DANCE STUDIO A - DAY

Robert Kelly stares at the boys as they pass by. He goes down the barre correcting each dancer. Then he gets to Charlotte.


CHARLOTTE

If you chose me for this important assignment, they would all be here now... just saying.


ROBERT KELLY

(under his breath)

But then they would never come back.


CHARLOTTE

What was that?


ROBERT KELLY

I’m sure you would have.


Robert Kelly’s eye twitches and catches Masu’s before the two of them slip into the storage room.


INT. STORAGE ROOM - DAY

Masu and Levi squeeze their way through the dimly lit room full of dusty props, sets, and costumes.


MASU

It’s here somewhere. Let’s each take a side, the sooner we get it the sooner I can dance.


Levi notices and picks up a large crow bar that hangs next to the door.


LEVI

We might need this.


The two of them continue to shift through all the costumes until Masu finds the red ladder in the back.


MASU

So... you’re not dancing anymore?


LEVI

For now.

(then)

Erin was right you know. It was my fault that we moved here. I didn’t know if my Uncle knew or said anything to you.


Masu turns to look at him. Levi looks down with embarrassment.


MASU

He didn’t. Listen, you never have to explain yourself to me.


Levi smiles and feels a little more comfortable.


LEVI

(hesitates)

I-I was bullied bad at school for being a danseur. We all left for a fresh start. My parents say it was because of their new jobs and so my Mother could be near her Brother.

(scoffs)

They must think Erin and I are idiots to believe that.


MASU

You shouldn’t care what people think.


LEVI

(jokingly)

Well if I only knew that!


Masu laughs.


MASU

What I mean is! If you love ballet, than who cares what anyone thinks.


Levi looks down.


LEVI

I don’t know if I like it anymore.


MASU

I can’t imagine doing anything else.

(jokingly)

And danseur? I thought it was ballerino for us male dancers.


LEVI

I like saying danseur, it sounds more dignified I guess.


MASU

Huh? You do you man.

(contemplates)

I guess I wouldn’t mind if another guy joined the studio.

(leans in)

I don’t know if you’ve noticed. I’m really out numbered here.


Masu brushes some costumes and dust from the ladder.


MASU

They would for sure sacrifice me first if a hostage situation ever went down.


Levi laughs and helps him. Masu looks down to his watch again. Levi tries to take the ladder from him.


LEVI

Let me take care of Erin. You should fly free while you have the chance.


Masu hesitates, but stands firm.


MASU

No way, I intend to see this mission through.


LEVI

(laughs)

Thanks.


MASU

Seriously though... we should run passed Studio A as fast as humanly possible. I don’t want Robert Kelly seeing this...

(gesturing to ladder and crowbar)

stuff.


INT. DANCE STUDIO A - DAY

Robert Kelly demonstrates the next combination with his hands.


ROBERT KELLY

And we will start with two jetes and a one and a two and a...


He his mouth falls open as he sees Masu with a ladder and Levi with a giant crowbar.


ROBERT KELLY

What the...


Kayla leans over to Charlotte.


KAYLA

This could only mean one thing. Someone must of gotten stuck in our dressing room window.


Charlotte gets a sly look on her face.


CHARLOTTE

Like that would ever happen.


Robert Kelly gives Masu his “What are you up to?” face before the boys run off. Charlotte impatiently snaps her fingers at him.


CHARLOTTE

Sir! Snap out of it and pay attention to me.


Everyone looks at Charlotte after her outburst.


CHARLOTTE

I mean... us.


INT. GIRL'S DRESSING ROOM - DAY

The boys stumble over the cluttered floor. Masu moves bags aside to make space for the ladder.


MASU

I’m screwed! Robert Kelly saw us and any minute he’s going to come in here and break all of my bones, so I have to crawl home with my bloody stumps!


LEVI

Wow, Erin’s already gotten into your head, huh?


Masu claps his hands together.


MASU

I know! We could find the secret bunker. He must have one. Come on, you and me! Let’s go!


Levi finally glances up to the window, terrified at what he saw.


LEVI

Uh, Masu.


Masu turns to away to have a moment.


MASU

(to himself, doesn’t know Levi is listening)

He’s never going to trust me with anything ever again.


LEVI

Don’t be so hard on yourself. You’ve only managed to lose one of us.


MASU

What?


LEVI

She’s gone.


Masu whips around.


MASU

No. Nooooo!


They both hear some scuffling outside.


MASU

Quick, hold the ladder.


Levi steadies the ladder as Masu climbs up. He sees Erin getting to her feet.


MASU

(calling to her)

Again... how?!


LEVI

Is she okay?


MASU

I don’t see any blood.


Erin brushes the dirt off her leotard.


ERIN

Told you I’d get out of here.


MASU

Can you just-


Masu gets cut off.


ERIN

Never!


LEVI

(calling to her)

Erin, stop being so difficult!


ERIN

See you losers!


MASU

Hey!


Levi hears her running away and leans his head against the ladder. Masu looks down to him, bonking his head on the window frame in the process.


MASU

Ughh, she’s a fast runner.


He stumbles down the ladder, nearly falling right into the lockers. Levi checks to make sure he’s okay.


MASU

We’re definitely in trouble now.


Levi starts running out of the room with the crowbar still in hand.


LEVI

Come on!


Masu follows after him.


INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - NIGHT

Masu and Levi make it out the front door.


MASU

(to Erin)

Wait up!


INT. DANCE STUDIO A - NIGHT

Robert Kelly nearly knocks over his iPad when he sees Masu and Levi running by. He takes a deep breath to steady himself, until he hears Masu scream.


MASU

How did you get out of the window?!


He abruptly stops the music.


KAYLA

Ha!

(to Charlotte, but Robert Kelly overhears)

Told you.


ROBERT KELLY

Told her what?

(then)

Never mind, I don’t want to know.


Robert Kelly pinches the bridge of his nose.


ROBERT KELLY

Charlotte. Front and center.


She stands in front of him. Now is her time to shine.


CHARLOTTE

Yes! Whatever do you need?


ROBERT KELLY

Take over class for me.


CHARLOTTE

Of course sir, It would be my pleasure.


Robert Kelly tries to hide the roll of his eyes.


ROBERT KELLY

(to dancers)

Everyone, Charlotte is in charge. I’ll be right back everyone.


He leaves and Charlotte starts the calming classical music back up. She cracks the whip on them.


CHARLOTTE

I expect no funny business and no disrespect.


They’re all scared.


EXT. PARK - NIGHT

Erin collapses onto a nearby bench. Her head dips into her hands. Suddenly she hears several messages from AMY, her friend from Seattle, pop up. Her eyes water. The display reads: “How’s it going!? I miss u!”

She desperately searches for flights to Seattle on her phone. She gets another ping. The display reads: “2 days has been waaay too long without u!” Erin furiously types back. The display reads: “Miss u too! I hate it here! I miss the rain already.”


She searches the common weather in Colfax. The display reads: “Colfax, entering the longest drought in years.” Another ping, The display reads: “Hang in there <3”


Erin wipes a few tears away. She soon hears footsteps and heavy breathing approaching. She turns her back to them.


ERIN

Go away.


Masu puts his hands on his hips to catch his breath while Levi leans over and coughs.


MASU

Give us a break! We don’t want you to get lost in the dark.

(calming down a bit)

You just moved here, you don’t know how crazy this small town is.


Erin looks up at Masu’s concerned face.


LEVI

Erin...


ERIN

What?!


LEVI

What were you thinking? You’re acting insane.


ERIN

I miss Amy! Look up, you can’t see the sky with all this factory smoke!


MASU

(hands on hip)

It is smog season.


Levi sits down next to her.


LEVI

I know you hate this... but you can’t keep running away.


ERIN

Like when you made our family run away because you had a problem?


Masu turns around to give them some privacy. Levi closes his eyes and composes himself.


ERIN

Sorry... I didn’t mean it.


LEVI

Look at least you can still dance ballet and we finally get to spend quality time with our Uncle.


ERIN

(scoffs)

He doesn’t care we’re here. He made this kid deal with us, cause he didn’t want to.


Masu is a bit taken aback but quickly deflates.


MASU

Yeah, that’s true.


ERIN

See.


MASU

But, I’ve known him since I was a little kid and I’ve never seen him so nervous than when he told me all of you were coming to town. He must care a little.

(then)

And you’ll get use to Colfax, sure it’s not Seattle, but it’s got some charm.


Erin stands up. Masu’s impulse kicks in and he tries to block her from leaving again.


MASU

(tentatively)

Where do you think you’re going?


ERIN

Back to the studio, okay. I concede.


MASU

Thank god.


ERIN

Now get out of my way.


Erin points to the crowbar.


ERIN

What’s that for?


LEVI

You know, to help get you unstuck.

(of Erin’s scared look)

I wasn’t going to use it though.


She cracks him a smile.


ERIN

Uh huh.


Robert Kelly runs into them, barely breaking a sweat.


ROBERT KELLY

There you three are! What happened?


Masu jumps in front of Erin and Levi.


MASU

Nothing! Nothing happened.


ERIN

They foiled all my attempts to escape.


ROBERT KELLY

Attempts?


Masu slumps down.


LEVI

I did think about leaving her in the window...


Masu lets out a loud laugh.


MASU

Me too.


ERIN

Seriously?!


ROBERT KELLY

I’m glad you’re all okay.


Something dawns on Robert Kelly.


ROBERT KELLY

I left Charlotte in charge. We need to get back immediately.


He hurries them along.


MASU

(mortified)

You didn’t.


ROBERT KELLY

It was a rash decision.

(then looking down at Masu)

However, I did make one good decision today.


They both walk quickly together, continuing to bicker.


MASU

I can’t believe you would do that!


Erin looks to Levi and they walk side by side. Levi puts his arm around her.


INT. DANCE STUDIO A - NIGHT

Robert Kelly arrives to a very tense environment. Charlotte has gone full drill sergeant. The dancers are exhausted.


CHARLOTTE

I want to see your legs go above your head every time with those grand battements!


Robert Kelly sneaks up behind her.


ROBERT KELLY

I’m back!


KAYLA

(exhausted)

How could you leave us with her??


ROBERT KELLY

(to Kayla)

I don’t plan on doing it again.


CHARLOTTE

(to Robert Kelly)

I think it’s safe to say we’re all warmed up and ready to go to our combinations in the center. You’re welcome.


Masu and Erin, finally dressed properly, step into Studio A and go to the barre to start their warm up. Charlotte and Kayla come up to them.


CHARLOTTE

Look who finally showed up.


MASU

I’m not in the mood, okay.


CHARLOTTE

(to Erin)

Where’s your brother? There were two of you, right?


ERIN

He’s outside watching.


Charlotte smiles to Levi through the window and winks.


CHARLOTTE

Interesting... that’s too bad.


As Charlotte walks away, Kayla strides over.


KAYLA

(shrugging)

She kinda sucks.


ERIN

Totally.


KAYLA

I’m Kayla.

(shakes Erin’s hand)

I’m very impressed you made it all the way up to the window. I’ve tried many times before but didn’t even get close!


Masu gives Kayla a confused look.


ERIN

I used the lockers to propel myself up?


KAYLA

Respect.


Erin points to her leotard.


ERIN

I like your dinosaurs.


KAYLA

Thanks! So do I.


Other dancers come over to Erin to greet her as well. Masu sees Levi with his eyes cast down and swaying to the music a bit.


INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - EARLY EVENING

Masu pokes his head into the hallway.


MASU

(to Levi)

You sure you don’t want to join?


LEVI

I’m sure.


MASU

Suit yourself.

(then)

Uh, I’ll be just in here if you need anything.


LEVI

(laughs)

Got it.


Masu retreats back into Studio A.


INT. DANCE STUDIO A - NIGHT

Masu finally puts on his shoes and catches Robert Kelly’s eyes for about the tenth time that day. Robert Kelly mouths a “Thank you” as the girls dance the current combination in the center.

Masu finally joins them at the back of the class, with the biggest smile on his face. The other dancers wave and smile when they see him. Giving him a few hi fives and hugs. He closes his eyes when he starts to feel the music.


Breathing in to gain some balance. But even though he starts off graceful, he quickly falls out of his pirouette. The other dancers watching him giggle a bit, but he continues to try and try again.

INT. DANCE STUDIO LOBBY - EARLY EVENING


Levi frowns and leans against the window frame, his feet marking the dance moves. He sees Masu having a great time.


But, when Masu stumbles, Levi is taken aback. He looks at Charlotte who giggles and Robert Kelly giving him a disappointed look before correcting him. He wants to go in and help him.


So, Levi looks down to his dance bag that hasn’t moved since he got there and opens it up to view his ballet uniform. Determined, he grabs his bag and heads to the dressing room.


END OF EPISODE



Danseurs_Pilot
.pdf
Download PDF • 241KB


Recent Posts
bottom of page