top of page

Baby-Sitters Club (2020) Spec - Claudia's Balancing Act

Logline: When Claudia and Kristy work on a book presentation together,

Claudia doesn’t pull her weight, she asks her sister Janine

to babysit Mrs. Newton's kids, so she can focus on the project.


INT. LUCY’S BEDROOM - NIGHT Lucy’s cozy room has a matching wooden rocking chair and crib that is placed by the window. LUCY, who is almost a year old, giggles while playing with CLAUDIA’s dangly earrings. JAMIE, Lucy’s older brother, runs in to give Claudia a quick hug.

JAMIE

Night, Claudee!

CLAUDIA (V.O.)

Since last year my babysitting skills have only improved.

He leaves down the hall and Claudia calls after him.

CLAUDIA

Night, Jamie!

She gently sets Lucy in her crib.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) I mean, they must have! Why else would Mrs. Newton trust me enough to take care of Lucy.

INT. MRS. NEWTON’S LIVING ROOM - MOMENTS LATER The tables and floors are covered in drawings that Jamie and Claudia made that night. She starts picking up the markers and papers, placing them in her kid kit.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) Having fun while baby sitting is easy! But... also making sure they do their homework or making sure they don’t put anything they shouldn’t in their nose... not so much. It’s all a balance and I’ve pretty much mastered it.

She glances to her backpack that sits by the couch.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) Now if only I can master getting my homework done too.

INT. LUCY’S BEDROOM - MOMENTS LATER Claudia drags her backpack and plops down on the rocking chair. She turns the night light on and takes out the book The Giver. CLAUDIA (V.O.) Kristy will kill me if she finds out I’m not pulling my weight for our book report presentation. I just don’t like reading...

She barely flips the book open before Lucy starts stirring. Claudia freezes, trying not to make a sound, but Lucy starts whimpering.

CLAUDIA You’re right, I can do this later.

She gladly tosses the book aside and goes to check on Lucy, who at the sight of Claudia calms down. MRS.

NEWTON tip toes in.

MRS. NEWTON

(quietly) Hey, did they behave today?

CLAUDIA

(quietly) Yep, like always. Jamie’s in bed and Lucy...

Lucy stirs again and stops as soon as Claudia shows her face to her again.

CLAUDIA (CONT'D)

Almost asleep.

MRS. NEWTON I can’t thank you enough for helping me out these next few nights. (then) I would quit my job, but they would self implode without me.

CLAUDIA

(laughs) No problem.

(yawns) I should probably get home. I’ll see you tomorrow.

MRS. NEWTON

See you tomorrow.

Claudia leans over the crib one last time.

CLAUDIA

Night Lucy.

Claudia waves good bye to Mrs. Newton.

INT. CLAUDIA’S ROOM - NIGHT Claudia sits at her desk trying to read where she left off. Her eyes drift off to her art projects that she’d rather be working on. She almost falls asleep with a piece of licorice in her mouth. MIMI, her grandmother, welcomes her back with some tea.

MIMI My Claudia. How are you?

CLAUDIA (sighs) These next few days are going to be difficult Mimi.

She cranes her head to the side to see what kind of tea Mimi made.

CLAUDIA (CONT'D)

I’m so behind on this project.

Janine, who was ease dropping, comes in and Mimi gives her tea as well.

JANINE

(to Mimi) Arigatougozaimasu.

(to Claudia) It’s simple. You just need to prioritize your time better.

Claudia’s eyes roll.


CLAUDIA It can’t be that simple.

JANINE Sure it is. Make a schedule and stick to it.

CLAUDIA You don’t get it, kids are unpredictable.

JANINE I guess. However, kids don’t have complex needs, you should be able to look after them and have time to study.

CLAUDIA Well I’m not you Janine. We’ve been over this.

JANINE I’m only trying to help.

Claudia takes a deep breath. Mimi steps in and places a hand on her shoulder.

MIMI Take one thing at a time Claudia.

CLAUDIA

Okay...

Claudia slumps down and watches Mimi leave.

JANINE Perhaps I could aid you in putting together a schedule.

CLAUDIA

No thank you...

Janine nods and leaves as swiftly as she came in.

CLAUDIA (V.O) (CONT'D)

There is no way we are actually related.

INT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL CLASSROOM - DAY Claudia, KRISTY, STACEY, and DAWN are in their English class. Claudia doodles on her notebook when MRS. HALL addresses the class.

MRS. HALL Morning everyone! Please get with your partner to work on your presentations. Remember, they are due this Thursday.

Claudia moves closer to Kristy, who talks way to quickly for her this morning.

KRISTY Hey! I know you’re taking care of Jamie and Lucy this week, so I thought afterwards, I can meet you at your place so we can work on our board?

CLAUDIA About that...

Kristy cuts her off.

KRISTY It could really use your artistic flare! Also -

Claudia cuts her off right back.

CLAUDIA Kristy I haven’t even finished reading the book yet.


Kristy’s eyes go wide.

KRISTY

You what?!!

The whole class and even Mrs. Hall turns to look at them.

CLAUDIA

(quietly) I’ve tried. It’s hard to babysit and work on my art and do my homework...

Kristy dramatically looks over to Stacey and Dawn, who have been listening to this whole conversation.

KRISTY (to Dawn and Stacey, intensely) You two can’t take care of Jamie and Lucy tonight can you?

DAWN Sorry... we were planning to meet at my place to work on our project.

STACEY Yeah... plus, Dawn was going to help me find a new hobby.

CLAUDIA

Really?!

STACEY I mean, I love being the treasurer of the club and babysitting. Lately though, I feel everyone has their thing except me... (enthusiastically) and I’ve been wanting to find a new interest!

DAWN So we figured after we’re done, we can try out different things!

CLAUDIA

I love it! I’m in!

Stacey attempts to give Claudia a hug, but they stop when they see Kristy’s disapproving face.


CLAUDIA (CONT'D) Umm... after we finish the project of course.

KRISTY (to Dawn and Stacey) Seriously guys, I need Claudia to focus.

Everyone nods their heads in agreement.

CLAUDIA

Maybe we could ask...


Kristy and Claudia look at each other.


KRISTY/CLAUDIA

Mary Anne!

INT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL HALLWAY - MOMENTS LATER MARY ANNE stands by her locker talking to LOGAN. Claudia and Kristy run up to her interrupting their conversation.

CLAUDIA Hi Mary Anne! Hi Logan!

Kristy pushes him to the side.

KRISTY

Bye Logan!

LOGAN

Okay. (to Mary Anne) I guess I’ll see you later.

He leaves. Claudia playfully pokes Mary Anne

CLAUDIA

(teasing her) Mary Anne has a boyfriend.

MARY ANNE We have not defined any status. We’ve just been talking

(dreamily) and when we do, I feel like I’m walking on air.

KRISTY

(smiles) I’m so happy for you.

(back to business) Are you busy tonight?

MARY ANNE I love how you’re always straight to the point Kristy.

KRISTY Could you babysit Jamie and Lucy? Claudia and I need to focus on this presentation for English. (batting eyes)

Pretty please?

MARY ANNE I actually told my Dad I’d make dinner with him tonight.

(then) I think he’s getting suspicious I’m spending all my time with a boy.

Both Kristy and Claudia laugh.

CLAUDIA

Well you have been!

MARY ANNE Well he doesn’t need to know that. (then) Good luck though!

Mary Anne rushes out and Kristy turns back to Claudia.

KRISTY You know what, I won’t go to practice today. I’ll help you babysit, so you can concentrate.

CLAUDIA (V.O.)

Wow, she’s giving up practice

CLAUDIA

(tentatively) Are you sure?

KRISTY

(with lots of conviction) I’m sure!

INT. MARY ANNE’S KITCHEN - AFTERNOON Mary Anne finds her dad, RICHARD, looking through cook books.

RICHARD Hi, sweetheart. I’d figured we pick a recipe at random and then go to the grocery store to buy ingredients. Like we used to?

He finally looks up to her.

MARY ANNE

Sounds like a plan.

Mary Anne’s phone beeps and shows a text from Logan, Richard gets a glance of it.

RICHARD

Ummm, who is Logan?

Mary Anne immediately blushes.

MARY ANNE

(quickly) No one.

Richard lets it go, for now.

INT. MRS. NEWTON'S LIVING ROOM - AFTERNOON Kristy sets up an area on the dining table just for Claudia.

KRISTY You should have everything you need to finish reading and writing up your analysis. (then) I even have a juice box for you.

CLAUDIA (V.O.)

Am I another kid Kristy is babysitting? Sure feels like it.

Jamie runs around with a toy as Lucy crawls. Kristy whistles to get their attention.

KRISTY Troops, let’s move it outside!

Kristy grabs Lucy and they head out. Claudia opens her juice box and sighs.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) I bet Stacey and Dawn are just as bored...

INT. DAWN’S ROOM - NIGHT Stacey and Dawn are working on their presentation board on Frankenstein. They are listening to music and singing along, having a blast. Stacey stumbles upon a movie on Dawn’s desk, it’s Friday the 13th. She observes it carefully.

STACEY

What’s this?

DAWN Oh, my mom’s been trying to get me to watch this. It’s a cult classic apparently.

STACEY Huh?

A devious smile creeps up on Dawn’s face.

DAWN We could probably use a break?

Stacey matches Dawn’s devious smile.

STACEY

We totally deserve a break! INT. MARY ANNE’S KITCHEN - NIGHT Mary Anne and her Dad eat the enchiladas they made. Richard breaks the silence.

RICHARD So, Logan... Is that a boy you like?

Mary Anne drops her fork.

MARY ANNE

(stuttering) Wha, What? I don’t know...

RICHARD Listen Mary Anne, boys are only after one thing.

MARY ANNE

(quickly) Dad, can we not talk about this!

Mary Anne looks down to her food like it’s the most fascinating thing in the world.

INT. MRS. NEWTON'S LIVING ROOM - NIGHT Jamie and Lucy are in bed. Kristy, still full of energy, tells Claudia more about the book.

KRISTY It’s all about the importance of memory...

Claudia zones out the rest and brings out a bag of chips.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) I wish I could remove this lecture from my memory...

KRISTY Hey! Are you even listening to me!?

Claudia looks around the room, finally meeting Kristy’s gaze.

CLAUDIA

Kind of. KRISTY Come on! I can’t believe it’s taking you this long to even read the book!

And now you’re not even listening to me!

CLAUDIA I’m trying, I promise.

Kristy hears Lucy crying from the baby monitor.

KRISTY

(gathers herself) I have to get Lucy.

(then) Just try harder, please!

Claudia stress eats a few chips as she watches her leave.

INT. DAWN’S LIVING ROOM - NIGHT Dawn and Stacey are curled up on the couch with several blankets. Dawn uses a pillow to cover half of her face. Yelling comes from the TV.

DAWN This is insane! Why did my mom want me to watch this?!

Stacey doesn’t hear Dawn. She is fully fixated on the screen.

STACEY

(whispering to herself) This is amaaazzing.

EXT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL COURTYARD - DAY Kristy sees Claudia sitting outside and gingerly walks over to her.

KRISTY

Claudia... sorry I went all “Kristy” on you last night.

CLAUDIA I’m sorry too... I should’ve taken it more seriously. Kristy sits next to her.

KRISTY We will figure something out.

CLAUDIA I’ve been thinking, what if Jessi and Mallory take care of the kids tonight?

KRISTY No way! They are far to young.

CLAUDIA Their only a few years younger than us, but fine.

(then) I might have one last option.

KRISTY

Who?!

CLAUDIA

(mumbles) Janine...

KRISTY Are you crazy?!

CLAUDIA Do you have any better ideas?

KRISTY

We are desperate.

Dawn and Stacey slowly make their way over to them. They both have bags under their eyes but Stacey looks pumped.

KRISTY (CONT'D)

Whoa, are you two alright?

DAWN

I’ve been scarred.

STACEY Do you guys know how awesome horror is!? We burned through three of the “Friday the 13th” movies and I could still go for more!

DAWN At least she found a new interest?

CLAUDIA (laughs weakly) Glad you both had a productive night.

Mary Anne walks up hearing the last part of the conversation.


MARY ANNE If you think that’s productive, my Dad was this close to giving me the boy talk last night.

Just as she says this Logan walks by smiling at her. All the girls smile at each other.

MARY ANNE (CONT'D) My only saving grace is babysitting the Pikes today.

I can avoid my Dad for at least a little while longer.

DAWN You’re going to have to tell him eventually.

MARY ANNE

I know...

Dawn puts her arm around Mary Anne.

DAWN I can help you break it to the old man.

MARY ANNE Thanks, I might need a witness.

The bell rings. Time for class.

EXT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL - DAY During lunch time Claudia goes outside to call Janine.

CLAUDIA (V.O) Like Kristy said, we must be truly

desperate to ask Janine.


Janine answers on the first ring.

JANINE Claudia? Is everything okay?

CLAUDIA Hey, everything is fine. So... do you have a lot of studying for tonight?

INT. STONEYBROOK HIGH SCHOOL HALLWAY - DAY Janine stands in the hallway outside of the library. She puts away her noise cancelling earphone to listen to her sister.

JANINE I mainly have an AP Chem and Physics test to study for tomorrow.

On top of my other homework for English, Ancient History, and Spanish.

CLAUDIA

(jokingly) So, a light load then?

JANINE

Precisely.

EXT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL - DAY

Claudia still on the phone with Janine.

CLAUDIA

(quickly) Could you look after Jamie and Lucy tonight? (then) I need to focus on my project with Kristy and it’s hard to babysit at the same time.

A long pause passes.

JANINE Maybe you should consider getting an alternate for the club.

CLAUDIA We do! They’re too young to look after a baby.


Another long pause.

CLAUDIA (CONT'D)

Are you still there?

JANINE

Okay.

CLAUDIA

(surprised) Okay?

JANINE It will be a good opportunity for me to show you that with careful planning, you can get everything done.

CLAUDIA (V.O.)

(sighs) She can never resist the urge to prove me wrong.

CLAUDIA Sure... I’ll text you the details.

INT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL CAFETERIA - DAY Claudia runs up to the table with Kristy, Dawn, Stacey, and Mary Anne.

CLAUDIA

(out of breath) Janine is in!

KRISTY

Seriously?!

Claudia nods, sitting down next to Stacey. Kristy abruptly stands up, like she does when she gives all her important speeches.

KRISTY (CONT'D) Then this settles it! I’ll come over right after school.

Claudia we will finish this presentation before tomorrow. (dramatically)

So. Help. Me. God!

Her hand ends in a determined fist to the sky.

MARY ANNE

(clears her throat) Um Kristy... what about the club meeting after school?

KRISTY As hard as it is to say this... for the first time ever, the Baby Sitter’s Club will be cancelled.

Dawn mouths a “Whoa.”

INT. MRS. NEWTON'S LIVING ROOM - DAY Janine enters Mrs. Newton’s house with a kid kit awkwardly in hand. She immediately gets bombarded by Jamie.

JAMIE You must be Claudee’s sister! What do you wanna do first? I got a brand new dinosaur toy the other day and we could play with that or draw.

Janine takes a step back, not use to dealing with kids.

JANINE Why don’t you do your homework first.

Baby Lucy makes noise in her play pen. Janine goes over to pick her up.

JAMIE (huffs) Fine... after we can play?


JANINE

Sure.

Jamie makes her way to the table to start homework. With one arm holding her backpack and the other holding Lucy. She takes out her planner, but then Lucy spits up on her. Janine sighs, time to get back up.

INT. DAWN'S LIVING ROOM - DAY The dark room is lit only by the tv. Stacey and Dawn intently watch another horror movie. Both girls are pretty invested now.

DAWN I’m so use to blood and guts now...

Stacy keeps her eyes glued to the screen when she answers her.

STACEY After this we should watch Nightmare on Elm Street.

So we can watch Freddy vs Jason.

DAWN

Cool...

Dawn’s mom SHARON comes in and sees the girls have officially been turned into zombies. She turns off the tv.

SHARON I think that’s enough girls!

DAWN Mom! Why did you do that?

SHARON Don’t you have a homework to work on that’s due tomorrow?

STACY Yeah, but these movies are sooooo addictive.

Stacey looks for the remote to turn the TV back on.

SHARON You can come back this weekend and watch more. Right now you two need to make up for some lost time.

DAWN We can’t stop now...

SHARON You know what another great horror classic is?


They shake their heads.

SHARON (CONT'D)

Frankenstein! Aren’t you doing your presentation on that?


Stacey sits up.

STACEY Hey, you’re right! We can use this new found knowledge for our project!

DAWN

Yeah we can! (to Sharon)

Thanks, Mom.

They drag themselves off the couch and into Dawn’s room. Stacey slaps one of her legs that fell asleep. Sharon laughs.

EXT. THE PIKE FAMILY HOUSE - DAY Mary Anne plays with the Pikes out on their swing set. BYRON saunters over to her. He shoves his hands in his pockets.

BYRON Mary Anne... I need your grown up advice.

She gives him her full attention.

BYRON (CONT'D) I’m seeing someone... a girl at school and I don’t know how to tell my parents.

MARY ANNE

Oh, you are?

Byron unravels.

BYRON I can’t keep hiding it anymore! I tell my parents everything.

(slumps down) I don’t expect you to understand. Mary Anne smiles and laughs.

MARY ANNE No I understand exactly where you’re coming from.

INT. CLAUDIA’S ROOM - LATE AFTERNOON Claudia draws on the presentation board while Kristy continues to tell her about the book.

KRISTY And once Jonas starts receiving memories from the Giver he sees the world in color!

CLAUDIA I couldn’t imagine being in a world without it.

She holds up her hands that have been stained markers.


KRISTY (CONT'D)

(laughs)

Right?!

(then) Our board is looking great. Then we can work on your part of the analysis.

Claudia looks up to her full of determination.

CLAUDIA

I can do this.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) And I actually believe it. I just hope Janine is doing okay for her first time babysitting. (then) What am I thinking, it’s Janine, she’s fine!

INT. CLAUDIA’S KITCHEN - NIGHT Mimi makes tea and purin (Japanese pudding) for Claudia and Kristy. Claudia’s mom KIMIKO comes back from work.

MIMI

Welcome home, honey.

KIMIKO

(yawns) Good to be back... another long studying night for Janine? (laughs) I see you are using the high caffeinated tea.

MIMI This is for Claudia and Kristy. They are working hard on their project. I assume Janine won’t be home till later.

KIMIKO Wait, where is Janine then?

MIMI

(matter of factly) Babysitting.

KIMIKO Huh? (calling after Mimi) That’s real funny Mom.

Mimi brings the tea and treat upstairs.

START OF MONTAGE

INT. MRS. NEWTON'S LIVING ROOM - NIGHT Janine tries to keep up with Jamie, who runs around, knocking juice over. She’s torn between wanting to clean that up or going to Lucy, who walks around aimlessly.

INT. DAWN'S ROOM - NIGHT Dawn and Stacey use their love of horror to inspire them.

INT. CLAUDIA’S ROOM - NIGHT Kristy tries to keep Claudia awake, bribing her with gummy worms as she types.

INT. THE PIKE FAMILY HOUSE - NIGHT

Mary Anne decides to text Logan.

MARY ANNE (TEXT) Hey! I’ve been thinking. Could I introduce you to my Dad?

Three dots appear and she waits in anticipation.

INT. MRS. NEWTON'S LIVING ROOM - NIGHT Janine trips over a few toys until she gets to the desk area she set up. Jamie waits for her, to see if she will play with him. She gets so close to the desk but hears Lucy needs her again so pivots and heads right back to her room.

END OF MONTAGE

INT. CLAUDIA'S ROOM - NIGHT Claudia still at her desk typing, suddenly drops her head on her desk. Smashing her head on a few gummy worms.

CLAUDIA

I can’t do this! (gestures to the book) I don’t know how to make any of this make sense!

Kristy jolts up from her sudden outburst.

CLAUDIA (CONT'D)

(defeated) You should just tell me exactly what to write and say. I’ll tell Mrs. Hall that you deserve all the credit.

Kristy drags her director chair over to face her.

KRISTY I’m not going to do that.

CLAUDIA Of course you can, I’m used to getting bad grades anyways... I’m the stupid one remember.

KRISTY Claudia, you can do this! Sure it might take you a bit longer...


Claudia tears up.

KRISTY (CONT'D) But, you have me! And I believe in you. If you get stuck, tell me! I’m here to help.

Claudia wipes a few tears away and looks up to her.

CLAUDIA This is why I chose you as my partner.


Kristy laughs.

KRISTY You would’ve been stupid not to. (smiles) You’re smarter than you think Claudia.

CLAUDIA But I don’t think I have enough time to finish this by tomorrow...

INT. LUCY’S BEDROOM - NIGHT Janine finally puts Lucy in her crib for bed. Jamie comes in wearing pajamas.

JAMIE

(yawning) Night night.

He drops his dinosaur toy and walks off.

JANINE Wait... you forgot this...

She holds his toy out to him like it’s diseased.

JAMIE

Thanks.

He holds on to it tightly all the way back to his room. Janine wipes her hair out of her face.

JANINE

(to Lucy) Should I even attempt to study?


Lucy stirs and starts crying.

JANINE (CONT'D)

It’s okay I’m right here.

She holds her again like precious china. When Lucy’s eyes start to flutter closed, she sets her back in the crib, but Lucy quickly whips her eyes open again.

JANINE (CONT'D)

What is it now? I’ve done everything you need. What else could you want?

Lucy only cries more.

JANINE (CONT'D)

I'm sorry

(then) Why am I apologizing to a baby?

Lucy calms down when she sees her face pressed up against the side of the crib.

JANINE (CONT'D) You don’t want to be alone do you? (then)

Hold on...

Janine does a few stretches before moving the rocking chair to face the window. She takes Lucy out of the crib to watch the stars outside. They cuddle together and fall asleep.

INT. LUCY'S BEDROOM - NIGHT Mrs. Newton comes in to find the two of them cuddling. She gently tries to wake Janine up.

MRS. NEWTON

Janine, Janine... wake up.

Janine wakes up, her glasses laying crooked on her nose.

MRS. NEWTON (CONT'D)

I’m home. Thanks for looking after my little monsters for me.


She fixes her glasses.

JANINE

You’re welcome.

MRS. NEWTON

(laughs) You stay as long as you like. Janine nods and snuggles in with Lucy again.

INT. CLAUDIA’S HOUSE HALLWAY - NIGHT Janine looks as if she was hit by a tornado. She overhears Kristy and Claudia.

CLAUDIA But I don’t think I have enough time to finish this by tomorrow...


INT. CLAUDIA'S ROOM - NIGHT Janine sticks her head in. Both girls notice how tired she looks.


CLAUDIA

What happened to you?

JANINE

Babysitting...

Kristy and Claudia try to stifle their laughs.

JANINE (CONT'D) It turns out, it’s quite difficult to watch kids and make time for studying.

Claudia’s mouth drops.

CLAUDIA

It really is.

JANINE I didn’t even let Jamie near the sweets because you know sugar can spike children’s energy levels.

How do they have that much energy to begin with?

KRISTY

(laughs) That’s what I ask myself every time.

Janine thinks for a moment.

JANINE However, it wasn’t a terrible experience. I guess, if you’re ever in a pinch that is, I could look after them again.

I still think you should get more alternates for the club though.

Kristy’s mouth drops as well. Janine almost leaves but turns back to address Claudia.

JANINE (CONT'D) Also... sometimes it’s okay to ask your teacher for extra time on homework. I think if you explain the full situation she will understand.

CLAUDIA

You think so?

JANINE I do. If she has a problem with it she can talk to me. My reputation at that school is spotless and I’ve won them many awards.

They will listen to me.

Janine walks out. Kristy turns to Claudia, mimicking a mic drop.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) Whoa, I proved Janine wrong?! And her advice seems... good.

INT. STONEYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL CLASSROOM - DAY

Claudia and Kristy go over to Mrs. Hall’s desk.

CLAUDIA (V.O.)

So, I decided to take it.

CLAUDIA

Mrs. Hall...

MRS. HALL

Yes, Miss Kishi.

CLAUDIA I thought I could work on this project and babysit all week, but I was in over my head. I read really slowly... (looks to Kristy) and needed lots of help from my partner.

So, I was wondering if we could get extra time to turn it in?

Please don’t punish Kristy because of my mistake.

Kristy dramatically holds her breath.

MRS. HALL I don’t see anything wrong with that.

Kristy lets out her breath and leans her head on Claudia’s shoulder in relief.

MRS. HALL (CONT'D) You both won’t be eligible for any extra credit though.

Kristy holds in a whimper, but looks at Claudia and smiles.

KRISTY That’s okay with me teach.

MRS. HALL Great, I’ll give you both till next Thursday then.

They both nod and sit down next to Stacey and Dawn.

STACEY

(tentatively) What did she say?

CLAUDIA

(relieved) She said it was okay.

DAWN We are so proud of you guys!

CLAUDIA Thanks! (to Kristy) Couldn’t have done it without you. (then to Stacey) I’m glad you discovered you like slasher films.

STACEY Awww, thanks. It’s all because of Dawn... and my nosiness.

DAWN We’re watching more movies this weekend.

STACEY

You both want in?

CLAUDIA Yes! I need a break after this crazy week.

KRISTY I’m in too. Only if Claudia brings tons of candy.

CLAUDIA When have I ever disappointed on that?

KRISTY We should probably ask Mary Anne but she might be too busy with...


Claudia and Kristy smile at each other.

KRISTY/CLAUDIA (CONT'D)

Logan!

They all giggle.

INT. MARY ANNE’S ROOM - DAY Mary Anne sits on her bed and calls to her dad when he walks by the door.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) So continuing to balance my life is going to take much more practice.

MARY ANNE

Hey dad.

RICHARD Yes.

She nervously plays with her hair.

MARY ANNE I need to tell you something.

Richard sits down on the edge of her bed.

INT. DAWN’S LIVING ROOM - NIGHT Claudia, Kristy, Dawn, and Stacey snuggle on the couch with plenty of candy.

CLAUDIA (V.O.)

With help from friends, it’s definitely easier.

Claudia uses her hands to block the screen.

CLAUDIA

This is horrible.

STACEY Just hang on til we get to the end... trust me.


Claudia raises an eyebrow.

KRISTY

I kind of like it.

Dawn is completely numb to it.

DAWN Pretty soon you won’t be able to feel anything at all.

CLAUDIA Hey at least the main guy’s hot.

A scream comes from the TV.

CLAUDIA (CONT'D)

And now he’s dead.

Sharon watches the girls for a second, happy they are enjoying the movie.

INT. LUCY'S BEDROOM - NIGHT After another night of looking after Mrs. Newton’s kids Janine positions the chair like before and snuggles with Lucy. Janine points out the window.

JANINE

That’s the Big Dipper. (then) You know, most people think the Big Dipper is a constellation, but they are mistaken. It’s actually a part of the Ursa Major Constellation.

Lucy coos happily.

JANINE (CONT'D) I knew you would appreciate that fact.

CLAUDIA (V.O.) And maybe taking some advice from my sister every once in a while. Janine and Lucy flutter off to sleep.

END OF EPISODE


Baby-Sitters Club (2020)_Claudia's Balancing Act
.pdf
Download PDF • 235KB

Recent Posts
bottom of page